Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here

The Tribunal

Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

This chapter of the book The Rules of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea: A Commentary deals with several articles. The Tribunal is composed of 21 Members elected by the States Parties to the Convention from among candidates nominated by the States Parties. Members are elected for nine years and may be re-elected. The terms of one third of the Members expire every three years and therefore regular elections are held triennially in order to elect seven Members. The date of commencement of the term of office is of relevance to the working of the Tribunal. This is so with regard to, among other things, the order of precedence of the Members, the commencement of the terms of office of the President and the Vice-President, the selection of the members of the Seabed Disputes Chamber and the Chamber of Summary Procedure, and the entitlements of the Members.

Keywords: International Tribunal; Law of sea; Seabed Disputes Chamber



Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
    The Rules of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation