Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here

The Structure Of Jewish Autonomy

Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

The new material on which the present study is based shows that the Council of the Four Lands consisted of twenty-three constituent bodies, divided into three categories: ten extraterritorial urban communities (Kraków, Poznan, Ciechanowiec, Siemiatycze, Mi\dzyrzecz Podlaski, Lublin, Józefów, D\bica, Przemysl, and Mi\dzyrzecz Korecki); three autonomous major communities (Tykocin, W\grów, and Rzeszów); and ten regional councils (Great Poland, Little Poland, the voivodeship of Lublin, Chelm-Belz, Ordynacja Zamoyska, the district of Przemysl, Samborszczyzna, Rus, Podolia, and Wolyn). The three autonomous major communities consisted of several subordinate urban communities, while the ten regional councils were further divided into several major communities (kehalim rashiyim). The structure of Jewish autonomy in Crown Poland was more complex than what has usually been assumed.

Keywords: Jewish autonomy; Poland; urban communities



Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
    Scepter of Judah — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation