Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here

On The Five Releases: What They Mean

Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

The Kephalaia compilers' efforts to present general soteriological themes in five-parts is evident in this chapter. It again presents a series identified as the "Five Releases" or "Liberations". There are Five Releases by which the Light was saved from all the Archons and Powers of Darkness. The First liberation and rescue is the First Man's. The Second Rescue is the Living Spirit's. The Third Liberation is the Third Messenger's. The Fourth Rescue is Jesus the Splendour's. The Fifth Release and Rescue is the Great Counsel's, which is the Call and the Response.

Keywords:Jesus the splendour; living spirit; Manichaean Kephalaia; soteriological pattern; third messenger



Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
    Pentadic Redaction in the Manichaean <i>Kephalaia</i> — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation