Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here

The Number And Sequence Of The Works

Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

The Protreptikos and the Paidagogos have passed through the ages as an account of first two stages of Clement's divine pedagogy. However, the role that the Stromateis plays in that pedagogy has been the subject of much controversy. The current number of eight books of the Stromateis and the sequence in which they appear today originates from an eleventh century manuscript. In the Eclogae Propheticae, a work not generally considered part of the three-fold divine pedagogy represented by the Protreptikos, the Paidagogos, and the Stromateis, Clement discusses the relationship between written composition and teaching. It is possible that the composition of the Stromateis, consisting of eight books, is systematised only to the extent of providing the boundaries within which the miscellany of notes can freely operate.

Keywords: Eclogae Propheticae; Clement; Paidagogos; Protreptikos ; Stromateis



Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
    Esoteric Teaching in the <i>Stromateis</i> of Clement of Alexandria — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation