Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here

ITLOS – International Tribunal For The Law Of The Sea

Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) was established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982 (LOSC) (Law of the Sea) to create a special procedure for the peaceful settlement of seabed disputes. ITLOS is the second permanent international court with universal jurisdiction besides the International Court of Justice (ICJ). It is also not an organ of the International Seabed Authority. ITLOS is counted as a member of the UN family. ITLOS is composed of 21 independent members (judges) elected by the states parties to the LOSC for a period of nine years; re-election is possible. The negotiations at UNCLOS III were strongly influenced by two procedural principles: the formulation of package deals and the consensus principle.

Keywords: International Court of Justice (ICJ); International Seabed Authority; ITLOS; Law of the Sea; UN General Assembly; UNCLOS III



Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
    A Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation