Cookies Policy
X

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here

Criticisms Of Vygotsky’s Concept Of Activity

Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

This chapter reviews Vygotsky's concept of activity. Vygotsky is remembered for his psychological work: formation of concepts in adolescence, child development, learning disabilities, educational psychology, memory, attention, speech, cognition and so on. Vygotsky made a number of investigations in different domains of psychology, but the work the chapter concerned with his approach to the central category of psychology, consciousness. Hegel understood a social formation as a formation of consciousness. The chapter made Hegel intelligible by interpreting spirit as activity in Marx's sense. The core of Leontyev's criticism of Vygotsky's psychology was this: when a person is carrying out some action. In conclusion, the chapter says that Vygotsky's unit of analysis for the science of consciousness was joint, artifact-mediated action, meeting all the requirements which are appropriate for science in the tradition of Goethe, Hegel and Marx.

Keywords: activity; educational psychology; Goethe; Hegel; Marx; Vygotsky

10.1163/ej.9789004184060.i-344.41
/content/books/10.1163/ej.9789004184060.i-344.41
dcterms_subject,pub_keyword
6
3
Loading

Sign-in

Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
     
    An Interdisciplinary Theory of Activity — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation