Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here

The Genesis Apocryphon: A Chain Of Traditions

Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

The Genesis Apocryphon is one of the first seven scrolls discovered in Cave 1 at Qumran, and the final one to be unrolled. It can be divided into three cycles, where the first two cycles of Enoch and Noah include many non-biblical themes, some of which have parallels in other Second Temple Jewish compositions, while others are without parallels. The largest and most significant cycle is that of Noah. The Genesis Apocryphon enables us to have a unique look the story of Israels great ancestors Enoch, Noah, and Abraham, which might have been followed by other stories now lost. This story was written as a Narrative Midrash, whose author drew upon other sources devoted to these figures.

Keywords: Abraham; Enoch; Genesis Apocryphon; Midrash; Noah; Qumran



Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
    The Dead Sea Scrolls and Contemporary Culture — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation