Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

I accept this policy

Find out more here


Brill’s MyBook program is exclusively available on BrillOnline Books and Journals. Students and scholars affiliated with an institution that has purchased a Brill E-Book on the BrillOnline platform automatically have access to the MyBook option for the title(s) acquired by the Library. Brill MyBook is a print-on-demand paperback copy which is sold at a favorably uniform low price.

Access this chapter

+ Tax (if applicable)

Chapter Summary

The Muslim presence in Cyprus dates from the seventh century, but Islam took root, grew, and was institutionalised in the island during the period of Ottoman rule (1571-1878). Cyprus was a British colony from 1878 until 1960, when the island gained its independence and the Republic of Cyprus (RoC) is formed. The two primary Muslim organisations in Cyprus are the Waqfs which manages the affairs of land and business holdings that have been donated for religious purposes, and the Müftü (or Mufti) who is the official spiritual head of the community. The clergy operating and performing their duties in north Cyprus are attached to two authorities, the Directorate of Religious Affairs (DRA) and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC). The usual religious holidays were celebrated in both sides of the island in 2012.

Keywords:Directorate of Religious Affairs (DRA); Islam; Müftü; Republic of Cyprus (RoC); Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC); Waqfs



Can't access your account?
  • Tools

  • Add to Favorites
  • Printable version
  • Email this page
  • Recommend to your library

    You must fill out fields marked with: *

    Librarian details
    Your details
    Why are you recommending this title?
    Select reason:
    Yearbook of Muslims in Europe, Volume 5 — Recommend this title to your library
  • Export citations
  • Key

  • Full access
  • Open Access
  • Partial/No accessInformation